The Campaign for Real Education was formed in 1987 to press for higher standards and more parental choice in state education. It is not affiliated to any political party and is funded entirely by voluntary donations.

Formed in 1987 by 14 parents and teachers, all of whom were concerned about falling standards and damaging changes in state education which were being forced through without any evidence to support them. Since then, the Campaign has been contacted by thousands of parents, teachers and academics with similar concerns. We now have a nationwide network of supporters and important links with like-minded people in other countries.


Newsletter Winter 2015

The latest edition of the newsletter is available to download here

CRE Manifesto

The CRE has released its own manifesto for the general election this year. You can view it here.

Whole Class Teaching

The CRE is pleased to publish Whole Class Teaching, a pamphlet by Irina Tyk, Head of Holland House School. If you would like to order a complimentary copy, please e-mail or write to Priya Dutta (contact details below). The PDF is available to view here.



The CRE is, and always has been, a voluntary organisation, totally independent in nature and free from any political affiliations. The work of the CRE is as important today as it was when it was founded in 1987. Set up by Nick Seaton and his colleagues, they worked indefatigably to highlight and campaign against worrying trends in British education. Sadly, Nick passed away in 2012. We wish to continue to honour Nick's hard work.

We do, of course, incur certain costs such as the maintenance of this website. We are entirely dependent upon donations from our supporters. Any contribution you may wish to make, no matter how big or small, will be very gratefully received. Your contributions enable us to fight to bring common sense back into education.

Please download our 'Support us' pdf form,
from here, to make a contribution.

Many thanks
The CRE Executive Committee


Mailing list:

Please subscribe to our mailing list to receive our electronic newsletters.

* indicates required


Chairman: Chris McGovern, Tel. 01435 830109 or 07757 715145.  Email.
Vice Chairmen: Jennifer Chew OBE, Jacqui Davies, Katie Ivens
Secretary: Dr WAD Freeman, Ashgate, Halland, East Sussex, BN8 6PW Tel. 01825 840831 Email.
Treasurer: Priya Dutta, 51 Eclipse House, 35 Station Road, London N22 6UX Tel: 07701 088720 Email:

web design: creative squeeze